Coffee, tea, or moneeeeyyyyy?

(picture, courtesy of marylamb)

When I mentioned the beginning of this challenge, someone asked me, “What about coffee?”  Well, what about coffee?  I will tell you.  Coffee is great.  I love love love it.  But, coffee can be expensive, going out for coffee anyway.  I know people who stop by the coffee shop everyday.  So, if you average the cost, this is what you get:

gourmet coffee $5×5 days a week=$25, $25x52weeks=$1300.  Whoa!  Holy crap!  That’s a ton of cash in my book.  Hmm, where could I travel on that amount of money, somewhere nice I’m sure.

regular cup of jo $2-3×5 days a week=$10-$15, $10-$15x$52weeks=$520-$780.  Wowza!  Once again, that is a lot of cash saved.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my local coffee shop and love to stop in for a good cup of jo. But during this challenge, I shall refrain. 

It is amazing to see how money adds up so quickly.  A little spent here and a little spent there.  Geez, it goes quick and takes longer to earn.

I am looking forward to the end of this challenge.  We have decided that the money we save from the challenge, we plan to use on a roadtrip to the Joshua Tree National Park. 

Good luck!  See you in 2011.

About Krys

Hello there. I am a veggie mum of two boys. Our boys are elementary age, and one is special needs. I love to cook, and create delicious food. I am also an artist. When not being the frugal chef, I am riding my bike, gardening, making art, or spending time with my husband and boys.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coffee, tea, or moneeeeyyyyy?

  1. funkyryan says:

    I’m so excited to see more of your posts. It’s easy to make your own cafe lattes & such that I don’t know why people pay crazy amounts of money for burned lattes at Starbucks.

Leave a Reply

