Deliver me from pizza…

Well, The 365 Day Project starts in just 11 days. Wow!  Where has 2010 gone?  Hello 2011!  This post is dedicated to delivery.  What meal is most delivered you ask?  I assume it is pizza.  Pizza is delicious. I love love love pizza.  We have found only three places that make vegan pizza around here.  One is Whole Foods, Mellow Mushroom, and the other is Conan’s pizza.  I have heard Conan’s charges out the wazoo for Daiya cheese.  And only one of their crusts is vegan.  Mellow Mushroom  was okay.  They charge $5 for Daiya which is crazy since they barely use a cup of Daiya, the pizza is crazy expensive and the taste, meh.  Whole Foods knows their stuff.  The boys love their mini personal pizzas.  I prefer to make pizza at home.  I can pick whatever toppings, a bag of Daiya is enough for three pizzas and the boys love the homemade marinara I make.  Which has, mind you 5 roasted vegetables pureed into the sauce.  Yippee!  So, here is my photo dedication to homemade pizza that I have made in the past and why I prefer to make my own crust, as well as my own marinara.  Mmm pizza.

Roasted eggplant, roasted garlic, and spinach pizza.

Oyster mushroom, spicy red pepper, and fresh basil pizza.

BBQ ChickUN pizza:   BBQsauce, seitan, pineapple, roasted garlic, spinach, cilantro, jalapenos, and Daiya.  The best pizza ever!

Well I am off to do some holiday baking.  I was amazed the other day at the cost of holiday bread.  I recently veganized a panettone recipe (Italian Christmas Bread).  The cost of it in the store is an upwards of $10.  For that price, I could easily make three. 

Happy holidays.  See you in 2011.  Lets rock this challenge!

About Krys

Hello there. I am a veggie mum of two boys. Our boys are elementary age, and one is special needs. I love to cook, and create delicious food. I am also an artist. When not being the frugal chef, I am riding my bike, gardening, making art, or spending time with my husband and boys.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deliver me from pizza…

  1. Andrea says:

    Hi Kris, we love homemade pizza too – I use a bread machine to make the dough…….and we love it!! I can’t imagine buying pizza again – and just like you said, you can be really imaginative (or not!! – my little guys love pineapple and tomato – and that’s about it!!) with the toppings. I’m not sure if we’ll struggle with this challenge – I don’t think I will – but am not sure about my husband…………..!

    • twoveganboys says:

      Andrea-Yay for homemade pizza! That is awesome you make the dough in your breadmaker. I didn’t know they could do that. Glad you are joining the challenge. Keep me posted. Happy holidays. 🙂

Leave a Reply

