Less than 24 hours!!!!

 

Are you ready?  I am. I am kind of excited and nervous. This is a big challenge to take on and beat.  Last night I went to the grocery store in preparation for tomorrow’s New Year’s Day feast as well as my weekly grocery shopping.  For our feast, I am making blackeyed peas with a vegan sausage, mac & cheeze, cornbread, and spicy collard greens. 

We are laying low this evening for our New Year’s Eve celebration.  When you have kids, that is pretty much what you do and I am okay with that.  My guys are awesome.  For our NYE feast, I am making homemade pizza and chocolate avocado cupcakes for dessert.

I am looking forward to all the money saved by the end of 2011.  I have my spare change jar ready to be filled up with coins and the “mad money” jar.  That is spare bills left over from the grocery budget.  I set our budget at $80 a week.  Any money left goes into the “mad money” jar.  We are starting a CSA, so that will save us on vegetables.  CSAs are awesome.  I highly recommend them.  We will get a huge box of organic produce every two weeks.  It is local, fresh, and more than enough to feed us.  The cost averages out to $15 a week in produce.  The cost per box is $30.  I have gone to the store and compared.  Buying that many organic vegetables at the grocery store would cost nearly twice as much.  And you are supporting a local farmer and his family.

I look forward to hearing your thoughts and comments on how you are doing with this challenge.  I will post weekly how we are doing, the ups and downs and all around.

Well, it is time to say “goodbye” to 2010 and say “hello” to 2011.  Time for new beginnings and to make and keep our resolutions.  I hope you each have a wonderful and safe New Year’s Eve.  See you in 2011. 

peas and love…..

Krys and the boys

About Krys

Hello there. I am a veggie mum of two boys. Our boys are elementary age, and one is special needs. I love to cook, and create delicious food. I am also an artist. When not being the frugal chef, I am riding my bike, gardening, making art, or spending time with my husband and boys.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Less than 24 hours!!!!

  1. What is a CSA? This sounds interesting, what exactly is the 365 day project?

  2. Andrea says:

    Hi Krys,
    I got to start the challenge a little earlier!! – I am in Australia! We went grocery shopping today – so the cupboards are well stocked with everything we’ll need. Your NY feast sounds so yum!! I’ll keep you posted on how we’re going and am looking forward to your posts! Thanks, Andrea 🙂

  3. Tyson says:

    how do you get involved in a CSA? very interested!!

Leave a Reply

