Happy New Year!

It is a new year and the project is going well so far.  I have received several emails from people saying they are participating.  I am excited and looking forward to hearing how it goes.  For us, so far, so good.  I plan to do a weekly update, posting food, possible temptations, frustrations, etc.

For New Year’s Day I made a big feast for us.  I started the morning by making baked donut nuggets for my family.  Later that day, I made spicy collard greens, blackeyed peas with vegan sausage, cornbread, and mac & cheeze.  It was very tasty and apparently the food is supposed to be good luck.  Yippee!

Breakfast

New Year’s Day feast

Sunday night I made vegan sushi for us. It was so good and made a ton.

Monday we had the rest of the sushi for lunch and had New Year’s Day leftovers.  I am a firm believer in not wasting food.  It was all tasty even as leftovers.

Last night I made a soba noodle salad with a miso dressing.  Quite tasty and made a lot.  It will make for a tasty lunch today.

We have a cauliflower and some spinach in the fridge.  For tonite, I shall make a crispy cauliflower dish with garlicky greens on the side and maybe some type of grain.  Tomorrow will be a vegetable soup kind of day.   

This weekend we have a busy Saturday, so leftovers will probably feed us.  No going out to eat or ordering take away!  🙂

Keep me posted on how you are doing. Good luck.  See you in a few days.

peas and love….

Krys

About Krys

Hello there. I am a veggie mum of two boys. Our boys are elementary age, and one is special needs. I love to cook, and create delicious food. I am also an artist. When not being the frugal chef, I am riding my bike, gardening, making art, or spending time with my husband and boys.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. Georgianne says:

    I know what you’ll be doing Saturday! 😀 Your idea of eating out less socially, and inviting friends over instead is part of what inspired me to start our cookbook event. For the cost of one dish, you can eat a full meal, get to borrow a cookbook you haven’t used before and discuss whatever floats your boat for a few hours! Much cheaper than a dinner out, and much more enjoyable, too!

    • twoveganboys says:

      Yes, I love it. I am looking forward to Saturday. I am still deciding what to cook.
      I mentioned to a person that you can still enjoy social gatherings without going out to eat, have potlucks, picnics in the park, etc.

  2. Andrea says:

    We’re doing really well!! – lots of picnics (it’s Summer here!) – and I am packing a lunch wherever we go. I am really enjoying this challenge – it makes me plan – and I’m not usually that great at planning – so now I have a new skill!

Leave a Reply

