When the going gets tough, the tough avoid temptation….

Ugh.  These past few days have been tough.  We have managed.  Our youngest son, we fondly call Little Bear has been sick with a wicked cold.  That means minimal sleep, a grumpy baby, and mum and dad who are to tired to want to cook. Did we go out to eat?  Did we order take away?  No way.  We were good.  Though it is very tempting to do so when you are exhausted. 

The other day I created a recipe for lentil chili.  Cheap, delicious, and makes a ton.  I just threw all the ingredients in the crockpot and went about my day.  We made frito pies.  Frito pies are a treat in the Southern United States.  It is corn chips, topped with chili, cheese, pickled jalapeno, and fresh onion.  In our case, we use a vegan cheese substitute since we are a vegan family.  We had two large containers of chili leftover that we put in the freezer. 

We were given some fresh arugula from a friend’s garden. I decided to use some of it over the weekend.  I made a swiss chard and mushroom quiche.  It is a favorite recipe creation around here.   The kids like it too.  For the arugula, I made an arugula pesto.  I mixed it with some white beans.  There was enough arugula to make a side salad for another meal and two small containers of pesto. I plan to use the pesto later on our pizza.

For our Friday night meal, I wanted to make something quick and tasty. I had roasted some eggplant earlier in the day.  So I cooked up some pasta, added some homemade marinara we had in the fridge, threw in some vegan pepperoni I had made earlier in the week, added the eggplant and some fresh spinach.  Tasty!

On weekends we make a sweet treat.  Usually we would go to the local co-op grocery and buy one of their amazing vegan cookies or cupcakes, but since we are doing this project, I opted to bake.  I love baking, so it wasn’t a stretch.  I decided to create a recipe for Rocky Road cookies.  I had some vegan marshmallows in the fridge.  Man oh man!  These were freaking awesome.  Needless to say, they were all gone by Monday.  🙂

Well I am off to make some enchiladas for tonite’s dinner and a quinoa black bean dish for the little guys.  Hope you have a lovely week.  Keep me posted on how you are doing. 

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

About Krys

Hello there. I am a veggie mum of two boys. Our boys are elementary age, and one is special needs. I love to cook, and create delicious food. I am also an artist. When not being the frugal chef, I am riding my bike, gardening, making art, or spending time with my husband and boys.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When the going gets tough, the tough avoid temptation….

  1. Jes says:

    What a wonderful idea! I wish I had seen this before Jan 1st, but I guess it’s not too late to start. I try to limit take out at my house (just me, The Hubs, and our dog), but I have a weakness for $6 veg sushi and Subway. Still, it would be nice to save some money! 🙂

    Good luck to you and your family,
    Jes

Leave a Reply

